Sportswriters honoured at SAM-100Plus awards ceremony

Sports writers in Malaysia were honoured at the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100Plus 2018 awards ceremony last night.

The awards ceremony was to recognise the good work carried out by the journalists throughout 2018 with Berita Harian's Helmi Talkah and Fabian Peter of the New Straits Times (NST) bagging the Siebel Award after picking up the Best News Report (Print) award for their article 'Badminton Dipalit Bookie'.

Norman Siebel was the first SAM president. The award, introduced in 2016, was to recognised Siebel's contribution in sports journalism in the 60s and for pioneering the establishment of SAM.

Some 200 entries were submitted for the various awards.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Shah and his consort Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah graced the event.

Roll of honour

Siebel Award: Helmi Talkah (BH) and Fabian Peter (NST)

Best News Report (Print): Helmi Talkah (BH) and Fabian Peter (NST) - Badminton Dipalit Bookie

Best Commentary (Print): Mohd Nizam Ali (CSN) - Sukan Asia: Adakah Realiti Dan Fantasi Membezakan Transformasi and Reformasi

Best News Report (Electronic Media): Norsyarafina Nasrom (Astro Arena) - Kemana Haluan Atlet Para Selepas Bersara

Best Commentary (Electronic Media): Ahmad Sharazad Sani & Norsyarafina Nasrom (Arena) - AFF

Special Report: Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi (Astro Arena) - ACL-PCL Pembunuh Karier Atlet Sukan

Best Motorsports Report SAM-SIC: Hasnida Hanim Ahmad Kamil (TV3) - Ayah Suntik Semangat Hafizh

Best photograph: Ahmad Fadali Baharudin (Pristine)


Popular posts from this blog

Tickets for Kuala Lumpur Masters Malaysia Super 100 2023 now available

Pelepasan cukai tambahan untuk pembelian alatan sukan, sewaan fasiliti sukan antara cadangan untuk Bajet 2024

From 'Mr P' to 'Kemelut Dalaman BAM': Four chapters of 'mesej Whatsapp layang'