Thank you for the recognition

Asian Football Confederation general-secretary Datuk Windsor Paul John awarding the writer with the
SAM-100Plus Best News Report (Print) award at PJ Hilton last night. - Pic by SAM

'Hold, Let go, Attack'

That was the title of my front page article published in the Sunday Mail on April 9, 2017.

The article was about how a former footballer disclosed the Kuala Lumpur FA was managed by an alleged bookie in 2013. Read the full report here.

Sunday Mail's front page published on April 9, 2017

It's been close to 10 months since I left Malay Mail, last serving as its Executive Editor.

And winning the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM)-100Plus Best News Report (Print) award for the above-mentioned article at PJ Hilton last night was a humbling moment.

Ironically, the headline of the winning article is reflective of life as well - of how one should know when is the right time to 'hold', 'let go' or 'attack'.

Congratulations to the other winners of the night, especially the joint winners of the Siebel Journalist of the Year award - Astro Arena's Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi and Mohammad Hurzaid Md Rosli.

Norbazly (with trophy) and Hurzaid (holding mock cheque) joined by (from left) Datuk Rahim Razali, SAM president Ahmad Khawari Isa, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, OCM president Tunku Imran Ja'afar and F&N Beverages Marketing Sdn Bhd consultant Datuk Kamal Harun.

SAM-100Plus Awards 2017 
Roll of Honour

Siebel Sportswriter of the Year Award
Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi & Mohammad Hurzaid Md Rosli (Astro Arena)

Best News Report (Print)
Haresh Deol - 'Hold, Let Go, Attack' (Sunday Mail) 

Best Commentary (Print)
Muhammad Zuhaily Badlishah - Mana penganti Roslinda Samsu? (Kosmo)

Best News Report (Electronic media)
Muhammad Afiff Md Adnan & Muhammad Salim - Muay Thai (Bernama)

Best Commentary (Electronic media)
Mohd Zulhelmi Zainal Azam & Mohd Ezreen Mohd Isa - Kongres FAM ke-53 (Astro Arena)

Best Special Report (Open)
Wan Norbazly Wan Azmi & Mohammad Hurzaid Md Rosli - Khairul Hafiz Jantan (Astro Arena)

Best Sports Photography 
Mohd Khairol Rizal Buhari - CSN Sportstalk

Best Report for Motor Sports
Siti Aisyhah Baslie & Shahrunnizam Mofit - F1 Finale (RTM)

Best Athlete Award 
Azizulhasni Awang (cycling)

Best Parathele Award
Ziyad Zolkefli (F20 shot putt)

Best Young Athlete
Aaliyah Yoong Hanifah (water skiing)          

Special Award
Gavin Kyle Green (golf) & women's tenpin bowling squad (Shalin Zulkifli, Siti Safiyah Amirah Abdul Rahman, Sin Li Jane, Syaidatul Afifah Badrul Hamidi and Natasha Roslan)      

Most Dynamic Sports Association
Football Association of Malaysia


Popular posts from this blog

Tickets for Kuala Lumpur Masters Malaysia Super 100 2023 now available

Pelepasan cukai tambahan untuk pembelian alatan sukan, sewaan fasiliti sukan antara cadangan untuk Bajet 2024

From 'Mr P' to 'Kemelut Dalaman BAM': Four chapters of 'mesej Whatsapp layang'