Former national football coaches (Malaya and Malaysia)

Former national football coaches 
1940 - 1950: Neoh Boon Hean 
1950 - 1956: Edwin Dutton
1956 - 1959: Choo Seng Quee 
1960 - 1964: Otto Westphal 
1964 - 1966: C. De Silva 
1967 - 1968: Peter Velappan 
1969:             Abdul Ghani Minhat
1969 - 1970: Harold Hassall 
1970 - 1971: Dave McLaren 
1972:            Jalil Che Din 
1973:            Tam Sitwa 
1973 - 1977: M. Kuppan 
1974:            Jalil Che Din
1978:            Chow Kwai Lam 
1979 - 1982: Karl-Heinz Weigang 
1982 - 1983: M. Chandran 
1983 - 1985: Frank Lord 
1985 - 1986: Mohamad Bakar 
1986 - 1987: Jozef VengloŇ° 
1987:            Abdul Rahman Ibrahim
1988:            Richard Bate 
1988:            M. Chandran 
1989:            Trevor Hartley 
1990:            Muhammad Syadiq 
1991:            Rahim Abdullah 
1992 - 1993: Ken Worden 
1994 - 1995: Claude Le Roy 
1995:            Hatem Souisi 
1996 - 1997: Wan Jamak Wan Hassan
1998:            Hatem Souisi 
1999 - 2000: Abdul Rahman Ibrahim
2001 - 2004: Allan Harris 
2004:            Datuk K. Rajagobal 
2004 - 2005: Bertalan Bicskei 
2005 - 2007: Norizan Bakar 
2007 - 2008: B. Sathianathan 
2009 - 2014: Datuk K. Rajagobal
2014:            Datuk Ong Kim Swee (interim)
2014 - 2015: Dollah Salleh
2015:            Datuk Ong Kim Swee (interim)


  1. According to my records, Malaya did not have a proper national team until 1956. So to say Neoh Boon Hean was coach from 1940-50 and Edwin Dutton 1950-56 is incorrect. Neoh was only coach of Malaya once, for the 1956 Merdeka Tournament. It was not until 1958 that FAM appointed a permanent national coach in Choo Seng Quee (until 1964). Dutton was never a national coach though he did handle two squads for friendly overseas tournaments in 1963 & 1967. Otto Westphal was only in charge for one year in 1965. Between 1966-74, FAM did not have a permanent national coach. Coaches were appointed on an assignment-basis, depending on the importance of the tournament. During this time, Clement De Silva, Peter Velappan, N. Rajoo, Dettmar Cramer, Dutton, Harold Hassall, Ghani Minhat, Jalil Che Din, C Arasaratnam, Dave McLaren & M. Kuppan took turns in taking charge. Cramer was in charge of the 1967 Merdeka Tournament, Hassall for the 1968 & 1970 Merdeka Tournaments, McLaren for the 1970 Asian Games and major events in 1971. Jalil and Ghani were mostly in charge for major tournaments in 1972 and 1973 respectively. My research for now has only taken me up to 1973. I cannot comment on the rest.
    P. S Never heard of Tam Sitwa

  2. Dear Bro Haresh,

    The best among the locals :

    a) The no nonsense and strict disciplinarian - Choo Seng Quee
    b) Caring,trustworthy and fatherly towards players - M.Kuppan

    The worst among the locals

    a) Wan Jamak (the confused one)
    b) Norizan Bakar (the clueless one)
    c) Dollah Salleh ( the unforgivable one )

    The best among the foreigners

    a) Karl Weigang (took us to the Olympics)
    b) Venglos (pure football brains)
    c) Claude Le Roy (played out by players and bookies)

    The worst among the foreigners

    a) Richard Bate(had no idea about Malaysian footballers psyche)
    b) Ken Worden (bluffed away with his dubious credentials )
    c) Hatem Souisi (was the coach for our hopeless OKS)

    Peminat Sukan JB

  3. What's this?? History lesson?


  4. Dear Bro Haresh,

    6-0, 6-0 Was that a tennis match ?

    Harimau Malaya ? Harimalu Malaya ?

    Better we call them Kucing Kurap Malaya.

    Did you hear and read the dramatics of the retarded coach before the match was played ?

    "Due to the current political situation and killings in Palestine, our players concentration and safety has been affected and this can affect our game"

    "All the players are fit and raring to go, we have done our homework and are expecting a good performance from our team"

    "No we will not park the bus.We have devised our strategy to maintain our focus.We will collectively defend and attack as a team"

    "I believe our players have familiarised well in Jordan.We are focused on the match and we believe we can get a positive result, at least a point from the game"

    His last significant success on winning the SEA gold was mainly due to the spadework done by Rajagobal.

    Another great achievement by this coach is having the distinct ability to see his Under 21 squad get beat by Georgia 6-0 some years ago and he has served the same 6-0 for the national team

    What now FAM ? Sack OKS ? Find another interim coach to get beat by UAE 10-0 in KL ?

    As has been the case,now the minister will threaten, warn,challenge,demand,order all things possible.

    In other countries, following 10-0, 6-0,6-0 defeats the minister and the football leadership would have quit long time ago.

    But not in Malaysia. Afterall isn't this Lal Lah Land where mediocrity pays ? And it pays real well indeed.

    I cry and weep for my country. I am a angry man now !

    No cheers this time

    Peminat SukanJB

  5. Malaysia football gone astray! Doesn't deserve to be discussed anymore, till they qualify on merit to Asia level competitions.
    Nothing is truthful, everything is fake and pretentious.

    Football is 'screwed' country is 'screwed' as well!


Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Tickets for Kuala Lumpur Masters Malaysia Super 100 2023 now available

Pelepasan cukai tambahan untuk pembelian alatan sukan, sewaan fasiliti sukan antara cadangan untuk Bajet 2024

From 'Mr P' to 'Kemelut Dalaman BAM': Four chapters of 'mesej Whatsapp layang'